The many villages of Ashford borough have rich historical backgrounds.
You can discover and learn more the various villages of Ashford borough by simply following the links that we’ve listed below.
The largest town within the borough after Ashford, with a distinctly country feel and with its own steam railway and station.
Home of the remains of an 11th-century palace used by the Archbishop of Canterbury, Thomas a Becket. Charing was a stopover place on the major pilgrim trail to Canterbury. The village has a wealth of historic buildings, and these are outlined in a Village Trail leaflet put out by the Charing and District Local History Society, and available at a number of local outlets.
A picturesque village previously voted one of the best places to live. With a rich history and a great farmers market.
Believed to be one of the most haunted villages in the country, this lovely village was also home for the much loved ‘ Darling Buds of May’ television series.
A village over a thousand years old and it now has a reindeer farm.
Another ancient village set in beautiful countryside, famous for the Biddenden Maids from 1100AD. follow the link to learn more.
Beautiful village between Ashford and Tenterden. The vilage also has its own ‘smock’ windmill similar to Ashford’s. It’s also home the South East Rare Breeds Centre.
Another ancient village overlooking the Royal Military Canal, invaded by the Danes in AD892 and then the French in the 1300’s.
A small village overlooking Romney marsh, which was first mentioned in AD820 by King Egbert.
6 miles to the south of Ashford lies the ‘gateway to Romney Marsh’. Originally called Orlestone,which lies just to the north of Hamstreet today and home to Orlestone Forest, which was once part of the huge forest that stretched across the entire Weald.
A small village not far from Ashford and dating back to around AD820.
High Halden –
Situated between Ashford and Tenterden on the A28, It was said that fifty tons of oak from some distance away was used to build the unusual tower and spire of the 10th -14th century Church in 1470-1490.
Established in around the 14th Century when the forest of the weald was being cleared to build permanent villages. King Edward III chose to grant Smarden a charter to hold a weekly market. the charter still hangs within the church today.
This village lies just to the west of Tenterden. It’s most famous resident being the author Frances Hodgson Burnett, who wrote ‘ The Secret Garden’ and ‘Little Lord Fauntleroy’.
Right on the edge of Ashford borough lies this beautiful village. You may never have been there, but you have probably seen it on television being used as a set or backdrop for many productions. Dating back as far the 7th century, it’s home to a beautiful castle built for Henry II in 1174.
Lying right at the other end of the borough from Chilham this village is west from Tenterden and is part of the Isle of Oxney. Home to Kent’s tallest post mill built in 1700’s.
Just on the outskirts of Ashford it was once a large settlement in Saxon times which preceded Ashford. Burnt to the ground by the Danes in the AD800’s, this then led to the rise of Ashford.